Complete beginner! Simple garden advice

Hi all

I have never owned a garden before and feel like there is so much that I don’t know that I don’t even know where to begin!

We haven’t really done anything outside since we moved in. But now the inside is sorted I really want to make some changes! 

We only have a small space and have a small toddler who loves being outdoors. So obviously would like to keep mostly free space. 

Keen to hear suggestions of what we could do with the raised area at the back. How To include some plants and which plants. Would love to be able to teach my little boy about planting and looking after flowers etc. And just want it to look a bit more exciting as expect we will be spending a lot of time outside in next couple of years! 

All advice really appreciated. 

Thanks 

Last edited: 18 February 2018 10:12:08

• I would plant edibles, then I wouldn't have to worry if the toddler ate something. And the back looks like a perfect place for a veggie patch. :) Then some currants and a small fruit tree on the right side of the lawn. 

A lot of edibles are also beautiful, like sunflowers, nasturtium.

• raisingirlraisingirl East Devon, on the Edge of Exmoor.Posts: 3,593

I would make a path - maybe with slabs like stepping stones, or possibly bark chips which are softer to fall over on - around that raised bit and plant the whole area up - get rid of the grass there. I'd plant a mixture of fruit bushes and plants with some easy vegetables, herbs and flowers - it depends which way it faces as to what exactly you could grow. Is it a sunny garden?

Keep the lawn in the lower bit around your patio for now, so there's toddling room

Flying...
    Or am I falling?
  • PosyPosy Posts: 1,639