Help me redesign this garden!

imageimageHello everyone

I have recently finished reading a book about re-wilding and am extremely keen to start my gardening education and introduce some life into my garden.  It is a decent space, but to my eyes it's looking a bit bare at the moment. The photos are from before winter, but as you can see there is decent potential there to build on.

My level of knowledge is extremely poor, I'm an absolute beginner and everything you see was inherited from the previous owner.  On one side, there are some bushes and plants which seem to be thriving.  At the back, there are three narrow trees which, to my eyes, do not look in good health.  On the right side, just a bare wooden fence which I would either like to add a climbing plant to or replace with a hedge, perhaps.

The grass is poor quality and only grows in patchy areas.

What I would like to do is start a fairly long term project to make the garden a bit of a wildlife haven.  I don't mind if this involves turning it upside down and starting again but I suspect I can build on what is already there for a start.  This will be a project over time.  My problem is - where to start?

I want to ensure all the plants are native and I have no interest in it being an over-pruned decked garden devoid of all insect, bird life etc. I want it to be quite the opposite, in fact.  I will keep the area with the seating but otherwise everything is up for grabs.

Where would you start?

Are there any books or resources you would recommend?

There is a corner with a space for a tree to be planted in the right - but which kind?

Any ideas, tips and inspiration would be very gratefully received.

Thank you

• Firstly you have to bear in mind which way doeS the garden face, what is the soil type, are children going to be using it, have you got pets ie cat or dogs, and how big is the garden exactly?, photos can be misleading and spaces look larger or small than they are.