Bay tree

A few months ago I bought myself a small bay tree. It was a bit sickly, but I managed to revive it and it seems to be growing rather well. However I have a small problem now. Very quickly after bringing it home, a small branch (?) started growing on the side(just below the surface of the soil ). How should I cut it off safely to transfer it to start a new plant? I'm not experienced in gardening at all (more enthusiastic novice than anything...), therefore I'd be very grateful for any ANY tips whatsoever... 

• You would be far better leaving it - it will simply be a new shoot which will grow and help form your tree. At least you know that after it's sickly start, it has begun to enjoy life and is starting to get a foothold. 

• DovefromaboveDovefromabove Central Norfolk UKPosts: 53,457

Hi Marta 

Or you could pull it off the roots, and treat it like a heel cutting as shown here http://www.gardenersworld.com/how-to/grow-plants/how-to-take-lavender-cuttings2/ 

I did that several years ago and now I have a lovely lollipop bay tree.  image

Last edited: 21 November 2017 16:06:01

“I am not lost, for I know where I am. But however, where I am may be lost.” Winnie the Pooh

• Thank you so much!!! I think I'll have to pull it off, it's getting quite tall now...

• Thank you, sir. Mine is also a lollipop tree, however the shoot started growing on the side, just by the roots. I'm afraid I've waited too long, now I have a problem... the bottom of it is quite hard already. I tried to look for some videos on how to cut it off properly, but to be honest I'm still in the dark... I worry that if I cut it and cover the cut with soil, it might catch some disease?

• Marta -  if you purchased your bay as a Lollipop, then yes you should remove all the suckers from the base.  It is usually easy to do if you catch them straight away - just pull down. You can still remove the shoot but be aware that more may appear.  Catch them early and it is much easier.