Layering spring bulbs in containers

I'm completely new to bulb planting (and gardening in general) but have  a variety of allium bulbs and I'd like to grow some of them in containers. For a variety of colour I was also planning on growing some tete-a-tete in the same containers. What would be the best way to arrange the bulbs? I've not managed to find any information on layering with these particular plants so not sure if that would be doable?

• DovefromaboveDovefromabove Central Norfolk UKPosts: 48,928

I've never thought that alliums work well used in this way as they produce such large leaves. 

I use Tete a Tete in layers with smaller spring bulbs such as grape hyacinths or Chionodoxa or Scilla. 

"...tea and toasted buttered currant buns, can't compensate for lack of sun because the summer's all gone..."   Autumn Almanac - Ray Davies
  • Lily PillyLily Pilly Central southern Scotland Posts: 3,559

A pot of alliums can be stunning standing alone. Especially if used for design e.g. On either side of a door or at a gate etc

Weeds are flowers, too, once you get to know them.”
    A A Milne
  • plant pauperplant pauper Posts: 6,238

I layer planted aliiums last year in tubs in order to have a stunnng display of... You get the idea. It wasn't as successful as I'd have liked. 

My John Innes/MPC/Grit combo was too claggy I think and as I find with successive plantings the new things came up through a shambles of dead and dying leaves.

Not great but it was my first attempt and I was/am still completely clueless! image  The tulips and wee starry things that I can't remember what they're called things were beautiful. image

The bees liked it!

• CloggieCloggie Posts: 1,153

I had a go at layer planting in a pot last year for the first time and I learned a lot from it.