Forum home Problem solving

Sumach Tree - some sort of disease?

imageimage

Can anyone help me identify whatever this is that has appeared on the trunk of my Sumach tree? It is appearing in several places and I haven't a clue what to do about it. Any help would be appreciated.

• Dave HumbyDave Humby HampshirePosts: 1,142

Having cut a few down recently it is fair to say they are very 'resinous'. It looks like some of that is leaching out. I don't think it is anything to be too concerned about but I am no expert so someone may have other views.

Last edited: 22 September 2017 10:12:51

• Hello janetweed. off topic. but please could you tell me if you take extra precautions with your sumac as i wish to add it to my garden but worried as i have heard it is invasive. also whta position do you have yours in e.g north south east west. thanks

• Thank you Dave Humby. I was worried it was some terrible disease that would infect the whole garden. Mr mahonia when I first planted my Sumach tree over 10 years ago, I was unaware that it could be invasive and in fact it hasn't been until a couple of years ago and then not terribly so. I have had a few shoots through the lawn which have not survived the lawn being cut. I also have had a few come up in the flower bed but but simply dug them up. The land behind my garden is owned by British rail and this year I have noticed that it has spread behind my fence. You can see in the first photo above. Hope that helps you make you decision.

• Mr Mahonia it is planted in a southern part of my garden is partly shaded by a huge tree next door to the east and the fence behind.

• Dave HumbyDave Humby HampshirePosts: 1,142

Mr M and Jane, just a word of warning, as I have personal experience of this plant. When they are in-situ and growing unchecked they are relatively harmless except for occasional sprouting of new growth away from the main plant(s).