Verbena Bonariensis

Jack1974Jack1974 Posts: 1

Hello Each,

I'm very new to gardening, and loving it. 

I've recently found Verbena Bonariensis, and have put 3 plants in my garden, each about 3 foot tall.

I've searched the internet on how to prune/dead head these, and there is very little.

I've found that I need to wait until the flowering finishes.

And I really struggle with getting my mind around the whole pruning aspect in general (especially where on a plants stem you cut?).

Would anyone kindly send a link on the above? I live in Hackney, London, and it is relatively warm here at the moment. The verbena still has flowers, so I won't do any cutting yet.

Many thanks in advance.

• FairygirlFairygirl Posts: 19,692

Hi Jack - don't worry - Verb. bon is quite accomodating, and should be no bother in your garden image

Very little needs done to them, so you can simply remove the flowerheads when they finish. This can look a bit odd, so normally you take the whole stem that carries the flower, back down to the next 'joint' on the stem. It's a good idea to leave them like that over winter as it protects the plant if you get very cold spells, and then in late winter/early spring, you can tidy the plant up by removing any stems that look a bit rough or are dead. Again, just cut them off back to a joint on the stem. You can actually cut them right back at that point if you want, as they'll produce new growth from there. 

Having said that - many people leave the flowerheads on and let them seed around, because they can sometimes die if the garden soil is very wet and heavy, or you get a long spell of sub zero temps. As you're very urban, and down south - that probably won't happen! image