Forum home Garden design

Tips for making my garden easier to maintain- please

I am fairly new to gardening and really love it, however having recently extended our garden sadly I am finding it just takes up too much time.  

I spend a lot of time gardening but it always seems to look half completed, beds seem empty/a mess and I have an endless list of want needs to be done ( it's probably actually the list of what I WANT to do really!) 

I have reduced the pots I have to water etc, but I would really appreciate any tips how to minimise the work so I can enjoy it again.  Any plants, garden design tips etc?

Any ideas fellow gardeners?

Thanks so much for your advice

• BobTheGardenerBobTheGardener Leicestershire, UKPosts: 11,258

You can reduce the amount of weeding you need to do by not leaving any bare soil.  Of course, that means planting more things!  You can use things like heucheras and dianthus for evergreen groundcover and there are a several types of variegated euonymus which are slow growers so don't need trimming to give you some evergreen shrubbery.  Just a few ideas but there are lots more suitable plants which don't need a lot of looking after.

A trowel in the hand is worth a thousand lost under a bush.
  • raisingirlraisingirl East Devon, on the Edge of Exmoor.Posts: 5,051

There are quite a few hardy perennials such as geraniums, nepeta and geums that flower for months and need relatively little care - just an annual hard chop after flowering generally. Same goes for most 'alpine' plants - sedums, helianthemums, that sort of thing. Lots of herbs like rosemary, sage, marjoram and hyssop are sturdy and evergreen (or nearly so) and don't get too huge. Given the right conditions (and you don't say what your garden is like - size, orientation to the sun, windy, cold, city, sunny) they will just mind their own business while being useful in the kitchen and attractive in a fairly low key way.