Forum home Fruit & veg

Potatoe in barrel unsuccessful

Sam50Sam50 Posts: 55

I planted potatoes in a large barrel back in may. As the tubers grew I would top up with compost untill it reached the top. 

In total I had 4 healthy plants sprouting. The largest started to die back so I decided to take the plaunge and empty it out.  

However so diasapointed as hardly any potatoes, maybe 6 in total. I had an additional few that had rotted.  I dont know if this happened because of the excess rain in london. 

What have I done wrong? any ideas please 

• The user and all related content has been deleted.
  • Sam50Sam50 Posts: 55

Scroggin it is my first time growing potatoes.  I did water every other day. Did not feed them. 

But hoped considering the volume of barrel it would of produced more than that. 

• PalustrisPalustris Posts: 3,671

They are greedy plants which need a huge amount of water and since the water goes through and takes any nutriment out of the compost they also need to be very heavily fed. I am sure I remember reading that they need 4 gallons of water per plant per week, but don't quote me on that.

By the way we only got about 40 pounds of earlies from a 20 foot long row which is about a quarter of the normal crop. No rain here for months.

• Sam50Sam50 Posts: 55

Maybe just bad luck.  hope to have more joy next time. 

What do you normally recommend as a feed

• DovefromaboveDovefromabove Central Norfolk UKPosts: 71,946

What sort of compost did you grow them in?

Do you know what variety of potatoes you planted?

“I am not lost, for I know where I am. But however, where I am may be lost.” Winnie the Pooh

• PalustrisPalustris Posts: 3,671

I would use Maxicrop at half strength every other watering.

• SkandiSkandi Northern DenmarkPosts: 1,260