Forum home Plants

advice on various plants

susananwmssusananwms Posts: 213

Am new to gardening and have only just got a lawn after many problems last year. Been planting lots of things in the hope that if a lot die at least some will survive. I bought a tiny blueberry and a rasberry plant and planted them on into large pots. Both plants flourished but only the rasberry  produced fruit this summer. I need to know the best time to transfer them to garden and how to prune. I also planted clematis, passion flower, honeysuckle and jasmine along a very long fence (quite far apart) but I did not have a border so grass keeps growing up around them. If I remove grass and lay bark chips around plants would that also help to shade roots from sun.  Sorry if these questions seem stupid but I am new at this and the more I use the internet for info the more confused I get

• Paul B3Paul B3 Posts: 2,999

Seconded !!image

• Rasberries are pretty easy to maintain in pots or borders. 

Blueberries are a bit more demanding and require acidic (ericaceous) soil or compost. Watering them with rain water i.e. collected in a water butt can make a big difference to their health. I wouldn't prune them for at least the first couple of years, especially if transplanting into the soil. When transplanting, make sure you add plenty of ericaceous compost! And don't expect fruits for a couple more years unless you're really lucky.

Covering the grass with a decent membrane (not plastic sheeting) and covering with bark chippings will stop most grass growing through but if it's couch grass, it will punch through a membrane very quickly. Without a membrane most types of grass will simply be 'inconvenienced' and eventually find a way through.

• DovefromaboveDovefromabove Central Norfolk UKPosts: 82,142
    Paul B3 says:

Seconded !!image

See original post

Present company excepted of course ... image

“I am not lost, for I know where I am. But however, where I am may be lost.” Winnie the Pooh